Skip to Content

External Scientific Committee (ESC)

The Clinical Proteomic Tumor Analysis Consortium (CPTAC) program receives advice from its External Scientific Committee (ESC), whose membership includes senior scientists and clinicians with relevant expertise in cancer biology, proteomics, genomics and ethics.  The members of the ESC are not principal investigators for or funded by CPTAC.

The main role of the ESC is to provide NCI's Office of Cancer Clinical Proteomics Research (OCCPR) with advice on the CPTAC program regarding current progress, present and future focus of efforts, and to identify gaps and/or opportunities relevant to the program and its goals. The ESC is composed of the following members:

Michael Birrer, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Joshua LaBaer, M.D., Ph.D., Director, The Biodesign Institute, Personalized Diagnostics, Arizona State University

Douglas Hanahan, Ph.D., Head, Swiss Institute for Experimental Cancer Research

Elizabeth Mansfield, Ph.D., Director, Personalized Medicine, OIVD, CDRH, Food and Drug Administration

Scott D. Patterson, Ph.D., Executive Director, Medical Sciences, Amgen, Inc.

Carolyn Runowicz, M.D., Associate Dean of Women's Affairs, Professor, Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine, Florida International University

Chris Sander, Ph.D., Chair, Computational Biology Program, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Pothur R. Srinivas, Ph.D., Director, Clinical Proteomics Program, Division of Cardiovascular Diseases, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

Bert Vogelstein, M.D., Professor of Oncology and Pathology, The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Johns Hopkins University